I’m Such A Hipster

I feel super lame even saying this, but I’m confessing to the undeniable fact that I am a hipster.

A few months ago in June on the 22nd, my friends Travis & Krystine and I went to a Panic! At The Disco concert in Seattle. The group that came on immediately before P!ATD was a band I’d never heard of before called fun. After the first song ended, I began to REALLY like them. Both of my friends agreed that they were actually pretty rad. When I got home, I did a little bit of research and I LOVE THEM WITH THE PASSION OF A THOUSAND SUNS. I immediately bought all their songs from iTunes and listened to it over and over and over and over again. So fun. has been a regular (and one of my most played) on my iPod ever since.

Then today completely out of the blue Travis, the same friend that came to the concert with me, started talking about the music video for a particular song of theirs. I searched it up and it was an excellent song! The music video (which isn’t the official music video, just an audio stream) was bizarre but after reading some comments I found it to be extremely creative. But then: HORROR.

While reading the comments to figure out what the hell was going on in the video, I concluded that Glee had covered it in a recent episode. And right there my heart shattered. I really love this band and I absolutely want people to know of their excellence and for the word to spread. But these people crossed the line for me. Don’t you fucking DARE say Glee’s version is better than fun.’s.

And now I’m sad. Because people will talk about how great Glee is and how much better their cover is and this band STILL won’t get the recognition they deserve. But I figured that I can TOTALLY be a hipster now. “I liked fun. before Glee covered them”. As annoying as that can get, I kind of respect it. I totally know how it feels, it’s happened to me far too many times. I suppose you could call me a Hipster Veteran.

So I guess all I’m trying to say is this: FUCK GLEE. Especially that bitch Rachel. She needs to go fucking die in a pit of fire.

fun. is better and always will be.

fun. ❤

Leave a Reply

